Iceland: My New Obsession

OH YES. This not so tiny island in the polar regions of the North…This land of fire and ice…and…there I go with accidental GoT references, again.

I would be lying if I said this was any kind of “new” obsession for me. It’s new to me in that it’s a new geological obsession. Have you checked out Iceland on Google Maps, yet? Just zoom in a little and click on the pictures. You don’t have to be a geologist to appreciate how amazing this place is.

I’m sure you’ve heard about it to some extent – It’s been in the news a few times recently with Bárðarbunga still erupting. Not gonna lie, the update page is bookmarked in my browser. Believe it or not, I’m not all that interested in becoming a volcanologist. I was at one point, but there is so much to learn in geology it’s hard to stick to your original goal once you start learning about all the different areas of study.

On my Google Earth, I’ve been placemarking every volcano that has erupted since the 1970’s. I’m definitely starting to entertain the idea of trying to find something to study here. I have an idea, but I don’t necessarily want to talk about it in detail because I have no idea if study-area/idea-jacking is a thing. I recently learned about something called the Graduate Research Fellowship Program. And by recently, I mean two days ago. The deadline for application is November 4th. It requires a lot for finding out about this last minute. I need 3 2-page letters of recommendation…This is going to be the hardest part, next to taking a week or so to decide what I would want to propose to study. Not hard because I don’t think I can get them, but because I’m a shitty person for asking 3 professors to write up a 2 page recommendation letters last minute. My understanding is that you give your professors a few months’ time to work on it, not a couple of weeks.

In my search for topics, I came across what is quite possibly the most badass formainifera study I’ve ever seen. The title is “Foraminiferal Decimation and Repopulation in an Active Volcano Caldera, Deception Island, Anatarctica”. Done by Kenneth L Finger, and Jere H. Lipps. I’m fairly certain it was their PhD project. Okay, I don’t know if one would actually consider the study badass, but the title is awesome.

Look, I just want you all to know that I will make it to Iceland one day. I have it in writing here, and hopefully I’ll be able to post about it on here as a future update.

But since my time is limited, I’d just like to take a tiny bit of it to bitch about my workload this semester, but hey, at least some good things came out of it. This semester is way WAY worse than I expected to be. I just want to be a lazy college senior! That’s all I want! But no, I’m a crazy person and decided to take 4 upper division classes, two science and two that require essays for days. My Friday’s, Saturday’s, and Sunday’s are dedicated to getting any homework done that’s due during the week, so that I can deal with whatever gets thrown at me between classes during the week. But i can’t actually have fun, because all my classes start at 8 in the morning, so that I have time to do errands and even more homework after classes are out.

Since school started, I have written 4 essays, 3 proposals, collected samples for my thesis in the bay via  research  vessel, presented a poster that I created over a year ago, about to write a 5 page proposal as well as my 5th essay, prepare for my 2nd calc II midterm, and just recently received an internship, that starts very very soon.  Which by the way, means I will now be working on top of all this mayhem. I realize this doesn’t sound like a lot, but the amount of time consumed by all of this is astounding. Yes, even writing based on bullshit takes time.

So..on that note…

Hello, gradschool? Yes, this is Tashina. Pls respond.

Cheers.

P.s.
Unfortunate last name combinations on research topics. See: fingerlipps
Also, I realize the featured photo is not in Iceland. That’s from when I went to Yellowstone.

Leave a Reply

